West Virginia Golf Association

Christian Brand takes final WV Amateur Series event at Glade Springs; Players of the Year named

The West Virginia Golf Association (WVGA) West Virginia Amateur Series, presented by PSIMED, saw Christian Brand of Scott Depot take the Championship Division at The Resort at Glade Springs in Daniels with a four under par 68 on the strength of five birdies.  Brand also won the two-day Championship title.

Bill Capelety of Farmington captured the Men’s Gross Division with a five over par 77.  Maximillian Morris of Princeton took the Men’s Net Division with a one under par 71.  Capelety and Morris also won their respective divisions for the two-day event.

Karen Rainey of Daniels claimed the Women’s Gross Division with an eight over par 80, while Janie Webber also of Daniels took the Women’s Net Division with a three over par 72.  As with the men, Rainey and Webber each won their respective divisions for the two-day event.

Following today’s event, the 2023 Amateur Series Players of the Year were named:

  • Championship Division: Chuck Henderson of Vienna;
  • Men’s Division: Bill Capelety of Farmington; and
  • Women’s Division: Karen Rainey of Daniels.

“We were super excited to host the final day of the Amateur Series event,” said Glade’s Assistant Golf Professional Jared Parker.  “The greens were rolling quick and we’re ready to throw the rough mower away.”

“This two-day event is new for us this year and I think we’ll continue it in future years,” said WVGA Interim Executive Director Chris Slack. “Thanks to PSIMED for their support and the Resort at Glade Springs for their hospitality.”

The West Virginia Amateur Series, presented by PSIMED, is open to anyone, male or female, of any skill level. Awards are given in several flights based on gross and net scores.

Click here for today’s leaderboard:  WV Amateur Series @ The Resort at Glade Springs.

For more information, please visit wvga.org.

2023 Amateur Series
Championship Division
Chuck Henderson

2023 Amateur Series
Men’s Division
Bill Capelety

2023 Amateur Series
Women’s Division
Karen Rainey

Scroll to Top