The Pines Country Club in Morgantown saw 17 golfers punch their ticket on July 22 to the 102nd WV Amateur Championship, presented by Astorg Motor Company and Mercedes-Benz of Charleston and conducted by the West Virginia Golf Association (WVGA).  The par 71, 6713-yard golf course was a challenging test for the field of 72.

Clark Craig of Fairmont was Medalist with a score of -1 (70).  “I’m just glad to have had an opportunity to play,” Craig said. “I played a lot here throughout college and feel comfortable here. I look forward to being at The Greenbrier.”

“This Ed Ault designed course has fast greens and severe slopes and it’s in great condition,” said Russell Reed, golf pro at The Pines.  “We’re always excited to host WVGA events.”

Over 400 golfers from West Virginia have registered to qualify for this year’s Amateur Championship, including six past champions.  The other 16 qualifying players from today were: Jared Taylor, Bluefield; Caden Moore and Marco Oliverio, Bridgeport; Brooks Farmer, Charleston; Joseph Ranieri, Fairmont; Adam Ware and Lucas Ware, Grafton; John Kingora, Ryan Mason, David Schwinler, Morgantown; Matthew Allen, Newburg; Brandon Tinney, Shady Spring; Buck Gower, Shinnston; Howie Peterson, Weirton; and Joey Seabright and Yadhu Urs, Wheeling.

The final qualifier for the West Virginia Amateur is next Wednesday at Greenhills Country Club in Ravenswood. The First Round of the West Virginia Amateur will be played Sunday August 1st at The Greenbrier.  The Amateur Championship will take place August 1-4 at The Greenbrier, which has hosted the event 94 of the past 101 years.

Click here for a complete list of today’s final scores.

Those qualifying July 22 for the 2021 WV Amateur included Yadhu Urs, Buck Gower and Joseph Ranieri

2021 WV Amateur Qualifiers on July 22 included Joey Seabright, Howie Peterson, Marco Oliverio, Ryan Mason, David Schwinler and Medalist Clark Craig.

Among the July 22 qualifiers for the 2021 WV Amateur were Matthew Allen, Jared Taylor, Adam Ware, Books Farmer, Caden Moore, Lucas Ware and Brandon Tinney.