Rule 14-1b, which prohibits anchoring a club when making a stroke, took effect on January 1, 2016, as part of the 2016 edition of the Rules of Golf. The linked documents below explain how the Rule applies to various methods of stroke, and also addresses more general questions received by the USGA and The R&A about whether it would be permissible under the Rules for players or competition committees to elect to waive the Rule. Additional resources, such as an infographic and an explanatory video, are available at

Any questions about Rule 14-1b can be forwarded to the WVGA Executive Director, Brad Ullman, or Senior Director of Rules & Competitions, Carter Page, as well as to the USGA at Players with questions on how best to adopt a method of stroke that complies with the Rule are also encouraged to consult their local PGA Professional.

Please be aware that all WVGA events are governed by The Rules of Golf and there will be no exceptions made to waive any rules.

Implementation of Rule 14-1b

USGA – Anchoring Diagram